Beauty, Make-up

The Face Off: Mac Mineralize Skinfinish Soft and Gentle versus theBalm Mary-Lou Manizer

IMG_3882Hi everyone!

Today I am comparing two awesome highlighters! The Mac Mineralize Skinfinish in Soft and Gentle is one I’ve had in my make-up bag for over a year now. The Mary-Lou Manizer from theBalm is a more recent purchase, but I’ve been using it daily for overย  a month now. So, I’m ready to compare these two beauties and decide which one I like best and why!

IMG_3869

IMG_3877

Similarities?

There are less similarities than differences between these two highlighters. They are both very popular and hyped up products. I discovered both of them watching recommandation videos on YouTube. However, the Mary-Lou Manizer is more popular at the moment, Soft and Gentle is becoming an ‘oldie’.ย  Neither highlighters have a harsh glitter in their formula. They are both very smooth and shiny instead of glittery, which is something I definitely look for in a product!

Differences?

The packaging is one major difference. Mac has a black basic packaging with a see through top. I like the minimalistic look and that I’m able to see the product. theBalm is known for its fun packaging and the Mary-Lou Manizer does not dissapoint. Poor Mary is in prison for being too pretty and too popular ;). The packaging is very sleek and has a big mirror on the inside, which is another big plus! If I had to choose between seeing the product or seeing myself when applying the product, I’d choose the latter. Another difference is the product itself. Soft and Gentle is a highlighter with a peach golden shine, while the Mary-Lou Manizer is a pure golden highlighter. At the moment I’m really liking the highlighter look, so I’m happy that theBalm luminizer is very obvious. Mac’s Soft and Gentle is a litlle more subtle.

Conclusion!

Both products are great! On days I want a really stand out highlight, I’d definitely go for the Mary-Lou Manizer. For a more subtle look, the Soft and Gentle skinfinish is a better choice. As for packaging I wish there existed a combo of the minimal black look from Mac and the sleekness + mirror that theBalm offers. Price considered though, I’d suggest the Mary-Lou Manizer for Spring and Summer ๐Ÿ™‚

Have you tried any of these highlighters? What are your thoughts? Or do you have anotherย  highlighter recommendation? Let me know!

Sara xx

14 thoughts on “The Face Off: Mac Mineralize Skinfinish Soft and Gentle versus theBalm Mary-Lou Manizer”

  1. I’ve nearly run out of my NARS Albatross highlighter and I’m looking to buy something new this time. I was thinking either the Mary- Lou Manizer or the MAC Lightscapade I think it’s called? Decisions decisions! xxx

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Never tried that MAC highlighter, so I can only say that the Mary-Lou Manizer does not disappoint! It’s a staple for a look I’m calling ‘the golden goddess look’, which I’ll be supporting this Spring and Summer ๐Ÿ˜‰ Keeping an eye on your blog to see which one you pick!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Hi honey! I really like your review about these two products,it is complete and exhaustive.I was undecided about which product to choose between the two,but now i think that i found it ๐Ÿ™‚ The Mary-lou manizer seems a really good product and is also less expensive than the Mac one! Your advice has been very helpful to clarify my ideas ;-*

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

