Beauty, Skincare

The Face Off: Effaclar Duo+ versus Avène Cleanance EXPERT

IMG_2522

Hi everyone!

Today I am comparing two similar products from Avène and La Roche-Posay. They are both treatments meant for acne prone skin. So, their main goal is to diminish the appearance of spots. Aside from their main purpose, they are quite different and I like them for different reasons. Let’s have a closer look!

IMG_2524

First up is the La Roche-Posay Effaclar Duo +. I’ve used this product for a couple of years now, after the pharmacist recommended it to me. The product has a gel consistency, so it is very light on the skin. I  find it leaves my skin cleaner and I like that the Effaclar Duo + has a formula that corrects any marks left behind by a previous breakout. It doesn’t change their appearance radically, but every little bit helps. The one thing I don’t like about it and that I have always found very annoying, is that when I apply a foundation or another cream on top, it comes of. It’s like I’m peeling the product of my face, which doesn’t give me the feeling that it really sinks into my skin.

IMG_2523

I’m comparing the Effaclar Duo + to the Avène Cleanance Expert. Both brands are very similar, as they are both typical french pharmacy brands. This is also a reason why I like them so much, I feel like they are reliable and tested thoroughly. The price range is very similar. Avène is known (at least I know it better) to be great for sensitive skin. The Cleanance Expert is, different from the Effaclar Duo +, a cream formula. I don’t see a major difference with the Effaclar Duo + when it comes to a more pimple free skin. However, I do find the formula better for these winter months. The Effaclar Duo + gel was not hydrating enough and when I wanted to apply a moisturizing cream on top it peeled off. In the summer months I might like this formula better, since my skin tends to be more oily.

Overall, I like both brands a lot and I like this type of products, but for my skin at the moment I’d pick the Avène Cleanance Expert!

Have you ever tried any of these products? Did you have the same peeling experience with the Effaclar Duo +, or do you know how to avoid it? Let me know!

Sara xx

2 thoughts on “The Face Off: Effaclar Duo+ versus Avène Cleanance EXPERT”

  1. I’ m living in Paris , and the products from La roche posay are clearly better than avene products for sure they worked much better and more faster . Effalclar worked very well on me . if I can give you a tips use Sérozinc it’s an “atomizer” (I don’t know if it’s the right word) termal water enriched naturally in Zinc . I mixed serozinc with all my moisturizer and with cleanance and effalclar duo .

    Ines kiss from Paris

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yes! I loved using Serozinc, but haven’t found it in Belgium yet… Also wanted to try something new, but if I come across it, I’ll definitely repurchase 🙂 I also really like the Effaclar range 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

